In September 2014, big changes were made to the National Curriculum. English, Maths and Science remain very important and are considered the core subjects in primary education. The National Curriculum sets out in detail what must be taught in each of these subjects, and they will take up a substantial part of your child’’s learning week. Alongside these are familiar foundation subjects: Art, Computing, Design & Technology, Foreign Languages, Geography, History, Music, and Physical Education. Schools now have more flexibility regarding the content they cover in these areas.

The content of the curriculum for Year 5 can be found within the Curriculum Overview. 

Further detail for English and Maths is included below. Click on the links  to find out more.


  • Year 5 Reading
  • Year 5 Writing


  • Year 5 Maths Yearly Overview

To see the newsletters which show what we are learning each half term please go to our Newsletter page.

  •  Year 5 Curriculum Map
Y5 Science
Y5 Maths
Y5 Writing
Y5 Reading
Y5 Curriculum Overview
Translate »