The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) is a very important stage in learning at Hartburn Primary School. Children develop quickly in the early years and early years practitioners aim to do all they can to help the children have the best possible start in life.

The content of the curriculum for Reception can be found by clicking on the Curriculum Overview.

Children follow the Early Years Foundation Stage Framework which explains how and what your child will be learning. Your child will be developing skills, acquiring knowledge and demonstrating their understanding through seven main areas of development, made up of three prime areas and four specific areas. Click on the links at the bottom to find out more.

The three prime areas are:

  • Communication and Language
  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development
  • Physical Development

The four specific areas are:

  • English
  • Maths
  • Expressive Arts and Design
  • Understanding the World

The links below also show the methods used in Reception to teach the four rules in maths

  • Addition methods in Reception
  • Subtraction methods in Reception
  • Multiplication methods in Reception
  • Division methods in Reception

To see the newsletters which show what we are learning each half term please go to our Newsletter page.

Translate »